Who Am I ?

One thing I’ve noticed over the last few years is how it seems we humans have stopped asking questions about life and about who we are or why we are here. We seem to have settled into a mundane life where we get up in the morning and shuffle ourselves off to work for eight hours and then shuffle back home when the day is over. Everything we do is automatic and demands very little thought from us. It is almost as if our brains have atrophied from lack of stimulation. Because we have forgotten to question ourselves, we have begun to loose sight of who we are, we just exist and do as we are told.

How can we know ourselves if we do not ask questions about who we are or why we are here, what is our purpose and most importantly, am I happy with the way I’m living? What if we are not happy and don’t even realize it and waste half our lives living in a way that goes against who and what we are simply because we never stopped to ask ourselves those important questions? It never even occurred to us. That is not uncommon. The important questions I believe we should be asking ourselves at least once a year are ‘Am I living my life in the best way possible? Am I making myself happy, is how I’m living making a positive, happy effect on those around me, am I being the best person I am capable of being?’

Why have we stopped being ‘Inquiring minds want to know’. Have we grown lazy as life has become easier? Perhaps it has become too much effort to ask these questions as that would require action on our part to be who we wish to be and we really would rather play on our smart phones. I’m not sure how or when we detoured off the path towards wholeness, but we have for sure. It feels as if we have ceased caring about who we are or how we present ourselves to the world. This has slipped into our way of life because we have forgotten to embrace morals or principles and by not adhering to such ideals we have lost our grasp on respect as well.  If we don’t know ourselves how can we can about ourselves and if we don’t care about ourselves how can we care about anyone else?

If I could have just one dream come true I would want for humanity to regain its innate desire to question life and oneself. We were born curious, as babies we crawled about through life observing everything, touching everything, eating everything even when we shouldn’t. It was our infants way of trying on life, seeing what was worthy of our attention, what felt good and what felt bad. So why have we stopped thinking this is important for us to continue? Have we gotten to where we no longer feel we have anything else to learn? Have our egos taken over and led us astray?

I think a great deal of the insanity we see gripping the world today comes from a lack of awareness. So many people haven’t got a clue about who they are or what they want.  So few people are asking questions because if they aren’t personally engaged in life why bother?  But this lack of curiosity is having a huge effect on the world and not in a positive way. Spend some alone time with yourself and ask yourself some questions. Am I living my life the best way I can? Am I happy? Am I living my dream or did I abandon it? How can I help leave the world a better place before I depart? Does my being have a positive impact on the world or am I making it worse? It’s important for us to know the answers to these questions.

Blessings and love to all ❤

Visionkeeper